Secretarial Notes DMATS Policy and Technical Advisory Board Joint meeting

Thursday, August 10, 2023

Date:

Time: 12:00 p.m. Place: ECIA, 7600 Commerce Park **DMATS Policy Board Members Present: ⊠** Brad Cavanagh (chair) **X** Laura Roussell ☐ Danny Sprank X Katy Wethal Mayor, City of DBQ DBO City Council DBQ City Council DBO City Council **⊠** Ric Jones David Resnick Susan Farber **Image** ✓ John Klosterman** DBQ City Council DBQ City Council DBQ City Council (proxy for DBQ City Council) **☐** Gus Psihoyos** ☐ Teri Goodman** ☐ Mike Van Milligen** ☐ Marie Ware** (proxy for DBQ (proxy for DBQ) (proxy for DBQ (proxy for DBQ City Council City Council) City Council) City Council) **■** Wally Wernimont** ☐ Jim Adams ☐ Melvin Degenhardt** ■ Vacant (proxy for DBQ Mayor, City of Asbury Mayor, City of East DBQ Grant County Representative (City Council) (proxy John Richey) (proxy Loras Herrig) **▼** Vacant** **⊠** Francis Schelfhout **◯** Doug DeLille ☐ Troy Maggied Transit Rep. (RTA) Wisconsin DOT Illinois DOT SWWRPC City Council (proxy Stacie Scott) (proxy Stephen Flottmeyer) (proxy Rob Bates) Russ Pfab **◯** Don Zillig ☐ Robert Daughters** Ann McDonough (VC) Small Cities Rep. Jo Daviess County Jule Transit Rep. DBQ County Supervisor City of Peosta (proxy Ryan Knuckey) (proxy Wayne Kenniker) (Proxy Vacant) **⊠** Beth Bonz** ☐ Sam Shea* Iowa DOT **ECIA** (proxy Kelley Deutmeyer) (non-voting member) **DMATS Technical Advisory Board Members Present: ⊠** Wally Wernimont** **⊠** Beth Bonz ☐ Vacant ☐ Tammy Henry City of Dubuque City of Asbury Dubuque County City of East Dubuque (proxy Jason Duba) **⊠** Gus Psihoyos (chair) Russell Weber Steve Keeffer ☐ Dave Lambert Engineer, Engineer, Engineer, Engineer City of DBO DBO County Jo Daviess County, IL Grant County, WI (proxy Bob Schiesl) (proxy Wyatt Anderson) **X** Stacie Scott **⊠** Kelley Deutmeyer** ☐ Ryan Knuckey ☐ Troy Maggied Jule Transit Regional Transit **SWWPRC ECIA** (proxy Jodi Johnson) Authority (RTA) (proxy Holly McPherson) (proxy Gail Kuhle) **⊠** Stephen Flottmeyer** Kris Tobin** ☐ Sam Shea* Wisconsin DOT Illinois DOT Iowa DOT (proxy Rob Bates) (proxy Francis Schelfhout) (non-voting member) (proxy Doug DeLille) Others Present: Dave Ness, Sergi Pujdas, Matthew Juckes, Steve Brown, Joseph Brahm, Ed Raper, Bryan Janssen, Daniel Nguyen, Kim Reem, Alek Stevanovic, Will Fry, Abdollah Nafakh, Ehsan Bagheri, Betsy Tracey, Julie Kneebel, Ernie Bolibaugh, Kelli Albert, Jacob Sprengeler, Derek Duehr, Jason White, Clare Gill, Alanda Gregory, Alison Whitaker, Brittney Carroll, Justin Thiltgen **Staff Present ⊠** Sarah Berning **⊠** Chandra Ravada **□** Dan Fox **Voting member by Proxy *Non-Voting Member *** Attendance by phone A quorum was present for DMATS Policy and Technical Advisory Board

Call to Order

The DMATS Technical Advisory Board meeting was called to order by DMATS Technical Advisory Board Chair, Gus Psihoyos.

The DMATS Policy Board meeting was called to order by DMATS Policy Board Chair Brad Cavanagh. Introductions were made at this time.

Review/Approve the amended Agenda for the Thursday, August 10, 2023, DMATS Joint Technical Advisory and Policy Board meeting

Motion by Bonz, second by Duba to approve the amended agenda for the Thursday, August 10, 2023, DMATS Technical Advisory Board meeting. The motion passed unanimously.

Motion by Jones, second by Resnick to approve the amended agenda for the Thursday, August 10, 2023, DMATS Policy Board meeting. The motion passed unanimously.

Review/Approve the minutes and receive and file the secretarial notes from the Thursday, July 13, 2023, meeting

Motion by Duba, second by Bonz to approve the minutes and receive and file the secretarial notes from the Thursday, July 13, 2023, DMATS Technical Advisory Board meeting. The motion passed unanimously.

Motion by Wethal, second by Resnick to approve the minutes and receive and file the secretarial notes from the Thursday, July 13, 2023, DMATS Policy Board meeting. The motion passed unanimously.

<u>Review/Approve Final DMATS Federal Fiscal Year 2024-2027 Transportation</u> Improvement Program (TIP)

Motion by Jones, second by Resnick to open the public hearing. The motion passed unanimously. The public hearing was opened at 12:50 p.m.

Ravada stated the projects added into the 2024-2027 TIP for approval,

- JoDaviess County, US 20 (EB) 0.1 mi W to Frentress Lake Rd & 0.2 mi W to 0.6 mi E of Barge Terminal Rd & US 20 (WB) 0.4 mi W to 0.1 mi E of Barge Terminal Rd; intersection reconstruction and resurfacing
- ILDOT, districtwide HSIP; safety
- JoDaviess County, Mississippi River; Bridge Replacement
- JoDaviess County, IL 35 Ramps to 0.1 mi E of Butternut Dr & US 20 to Sinsinawa Ave; Ramp safety improvements, resurfacing & ADA improvements

Motion by Bonz second by Duba to recommend approval to the DMATS Policy Board the Final DMATS Federal Fiscal Year 2024-2027 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP). The motion passed unanimously.

Motion by Roussell, second by Jones to approve the Final DMATS Federal Fiscal Year 2024-2027 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP). The motion passed unanimously. Motion by Resnick, second by Jones to close the public hearing. The motion passed unanimously. The public hearing was closed at 12:54 p.m.

Update on STREETS project (presentation by Parsons)

The team from Parsons went over the update on the STREETS project. The project goals are to provide more efficient and more balanced utilization of the City's roadway network infrastructure. Optimize traffic flow by leveraging current infrastructure and latest technologies. The system includes five mayor components: travel demand model (TDM), real time traffic model (MTM), intelligent traffic signal control, an automated decision support system (DSS), and advanced traveler information system (ATIS). Parsons gave a status update for the project; base INET and Aimsun system deployed on site, base model developed, integrated city signal system and field devices, set up video analytics, integration of the systems is in progress, working on design for new field elements, developing signal response strategies, developing interfaces; INRIX, DOT ATMS, and WAZE, and expecting to go live in spring.

Update on Quite Zone Study (presentation by Anderson Bogert)

The team from Anderson Bogert gave an update on the quiet zone study. Anderson Bogert completed the quite zone study and is working on finalizing the report for the MPO area which will include recommendations for safety improvements for each quite zone area. MPO area will be split into 6 separate quite zones and the report will provide recommendations on phasing of each individual quite zone and will provide some recommendations for grants and other funding opportunities. The next steps are to finalize the report, have city councils and boards of supervisors adopt the study and submit a notice of intent.

Comments from public on an item that did not appear on the agenda

No comments were made by the public.

Other Business

No other business at this time.

Adjournment

Motion by Bonz, second by Duba to adjourn the Thursday, August 10, 2023, DMATS Technical Advisory Board meeting. The motion passed unanimously. The DMATS Technical Advisory Board meeting adjourned at 1:43 p.m.

Motion by Wethal, second by Jones to adjourn the Thursday, August 10, 2023, DMATS Policy Board meeting. The motion passed unanimously. The DMATS Policy Board meeting adjourned at 1:43 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Chandra Ravada ECIA Director of Transportation and Planning